Interview with Justin D. Lambe

This month’s guest interview is with Justin D. Lambe whose best-selling books include Death by Gingerbread, Peanut Butter Cook Murder, and Picture Perfect.  He’s here today to discuss his newest work in progress, Death in Sparkling Cove.

Hello, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

  • Thank you for having me. My name is Justin Lambe and I’m from Southwestern Virginia. I have a very passionate love for mystery stories. That is how my writing started. I have always had a huge imagination, and one day I thought, “I’m going to write a short story” and the rest is history.
  • Tell us about your newest book. My newest book, ‘Death In Sparkling Cove’, is set by the ocean in South Carolina. The story is about some college friends that all pitch in and plan a trip for summer break. The beach town is Sparkling Cove, South Carolina. They choose to stay at The Sparkling Cove Inn. Actually, it is the only lodging the town has to offer. Their trip turns south when a body is discovered just a couple of doors down from the room they’re staying in. After further investigation, they discover that one of the students has been murdered. The story goes on to reveal some secrets, and a total life transformation, that takes 30 years. The release date is set for March 10th, 2017.
  • What are your current projectsI’m currently plotting, and outlining a new book entitled, Order In The DEATH, expected to release in July of 2017.
  • What books have most influenced your life? As a child I didn’t like to read, unless my parents read to me, or during summer reading programs at my local library. I always enjoyed reading The Boxcar Children. As I have gotten older, the love of reading has really come into my life like a rushing wind. The books that inspire me now are novels by James Patterson, Nora Roberts, and Susan Furlong.
  • What inspired you to write your first book? I wrote my first book to prove to myself that I could definitely do it.
  • Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? My main character is Zach Jones. Down through the story readers will see how his life began as just a jealous kid to becoming a changed man who is married and seeking to have a better life, even though he has made some wrong decisions.
  • When did you decide to become a writer? In late summer, early fall of 2015, when I wrote my first story.
  • Why do you write? I write because it is something that makes me happy. My mom once told me, “You should do something everyday that makes you happy, and that you enjoy.” That quote has really been an inspiration as I write my books.
  • What made you decide to sit down and actually start something? I sat down to see what would happen. Little did I know it would lead to four published books, and three Spanish versions.
  • What is the hardest thing about writing? I would have to say the hardest thing for me is writer’s block. Some days, I can write with no problem. On other days, I stare at the screen wondering what to write next.
  • What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book? The dedication. My latest book is longer than my other books.
  • What is the easiest thing about writing? The publication process. All you have to do is send in your manuscript file, and your cover, and a couple days later your readers are ordering a copy.
  • What book are you reading now? I just finished reading Silver Linings by Debbie Macomber.
  • What does your writing process look like? I normally write my first draft, then begin the editing process; then I address the spelling and grammar errors. Then I do a final read as I address those; then I format the interior of my book.
  • Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)?  My strange writing habit would have to be that I write all of my books between the morning hours of 5:30 to around 7:30 or 8 o’clock.  I’m more focused and my creativity juices really flow during that time.
  • Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Staying motivated, and dedicated to finishing my first draft. Sometimes when I sit down to write, I can get easily distracted on other things, Facebook, E-mail, etc.
  • What is your favorite motivational phrase? Next to what my Mom once told me, I read a blog post from another author, Susan Berliner. It simply summed it up, when it comes to where you just don’t want to write. It simply said two things: butt in the chair, words on the page.
  • .What is your favorite book and why? I really don’t have a favorite book, because I love anything fiction or mystery. I would have to say if I had to choose it would be the Novel Ideal Mysteries by Lucy Arlington. These are my favorites, because I love the story settings. When I start reading them, I can’t seem to put the books down.
  • What do you like to do when you’re not writing? When I’m not writing, you can find me sitting by a piano playing a hymn or reading a good book.
  • From where do you gain your inspiration? My inspiration comes from my parents. They have always taught me to follow my dreams, and not be afraid to take chances.
  • What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around? The main advantages to self-publishing is the power to control every aspect of your book. The only disadvantage is you won’t get to see your book on the shelf of Barnes & Noble, but it can be ordered in the store or on their website.
  • How do you market your books? I mostly market my books via social media, through my website, justinlambe.com, and my email newsletter. Social media has really opened up an avenue to connect with my readers as well gain new ones.
  • Why did you choose this route? I have found this self-published route to be easier. I went through a publishing company when I first started, and I didn’t like it as much.
  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? My advice would be to create a page on each social media site, and keep it updated regularly. Also, develop a subscriber list for a newsletter. One more thing is to create a website, and keep it up to date as well.
  • What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book? I market my previous books as I write new ones. Then when I finish my new project I market it along with my other ones.
  • What do you do to get book reviews? I mainly ask my friends and family to read my books and give me a honest review. Also, I send a couple copies to different people to review.
  • What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?  Good reviews really build an author’s confidence. Bad reviews show you areas that need to be improved. Also, you should keep a positive attitude because not everyone is going to like and read your books.
  • Any tips on what to do and what not to do? Publish your books in multiple languages. I have all of mine in Spanish, and it has really gone very well in other countries like Spain and Europe. What not to do: Don’t let someone tell you that you can’t become a writer. Take risks.  I took a risk with the Spanish versions of my books, but I’m glad I took that chance. It has really been beneficial to me in the long run.
  • Which famous person, living or dead would you like to meet and why? I would like to meet all of these wonderful authors like Stephen King, James Patterson, and Clive Cussler and ask them on how they first started in their careers.
  • If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why? It would have to be The Magic Tree House Books by Mary Osborne. Those are wonderfully written children’s books that I loved to read as a child.
  • What advice would you give to aspiring writers? Follow your dreams. Don’t be afraid to take chances, and ask questions. If you have a story to tell, write it! The keyboard is your canvas. Go paint your picture!

This blog is dedicated to the promotion and support of indie authors. If you would like to be a featured author on this page, you may contact me here or email me direct at drwandapyle@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

