Interview with Michael J. Molloy

 

We are continuing to showcase authors of mystery and suspense this month with an interview with Michael J. Molloy, author of Sadistic Pattern. Thank you for your interest in being a part of this discussion in support of Indie Authors.

  • Tell us a little about yourself and your background? I’m a native New Yorker, a graduate of St. John’s University, and have been writing off and on for the past 16 years.
  • Discuss your newest book. Sadistic Pattern follows the exploits of New England college professor Roger Lavoie. He was acquitted in a trial of a gruesome murder and driving his ex-wife to a mental institution. A series of similar events follow more than 20 years later and once again he becomes the prime suspect.
  • Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? That’s easy. It was by the late Frank McCourt (Angela’s Ashes). I had Mr. McCourt for an English course back in the early 1970s at Stuyvesant High School. I read all three of his books.
  • What are your current projects? I also write romance, and I’m working on my second contemporary romance titled “Sweet Greetings from Carthage”. The heroine is based on a woman I’ve known for nearly five decades. She recently passed away two years ago.
  • What books have most influenced your life? “The Dead Zone” by Stephen King, “The Devil’s Alternative” by Frederick Forsyth, and “Nights in Rodanthe” by Nicholas Sparks.
  • Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? Roger Lavoie is very cunning, especially he eludes the police. As twisted as he is, Roger remains very clever in how he executes his murders.
  • Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? The ending leaves one pondering and opens discussions. That’s what I wish to convey. I love a thinking person as a reader.
  • What is the hardest thing about writing? Because I don’t write every day (I have a regular job and I’m also a musician) it gets to be very difficult to sit my butt down in the chair and continue the story.
  • What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book? Research in police work, especially in forensics. Also keeping each character interesting, regardless of how minor their role may play.
  • What is the easiest thing about writing? Dialogue. Yes it can be a filler. But the art of conversation between characters should not be lost.
  • What book are you reading now? Reading an old copy of Lisa Kleypas’ “Blue Eyed Devil”.
  • What is one random thing about you? I’m also a musician. I play organ and keyboard and will be performing at a few Brooklyn Cyclones baseball games in late June and early July.
  • What does your writing process look like? I have an outline of the story in my head, but I write by whim as each stage of the book develops.
  • Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)? LOL! Nothing too extreme! But I usually play waves crashing the shore as background when writing romance, and playing the soundtrack to “Vertigo” when writing suspense.
  • Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Always trying to find new ways to illustrate similar scenes as part of showing the reader the tale as it unfolds.
  • What do you like to do when you’re not writing? Besides holding down a full-time job, I attend meetings and functions with my local Romance Writers of America writing chapter here in New York City. I’m also an organist, but I like classic rock and pop tunes.
  • From where do you gain your inspiration? Each meeting with my RWANYC writing mates encourages me to get home right away and attack my PC and continue.
  • What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around? Self-publishing gives you total control, but you better have a well-thought out plan, because you’re essentially naked when it comes to issues such as marketing. Traditional publishers offer you a ton of support, but they do wield their influence and control. Each offers both good and bad features.
  • How do you market your books? Giveaways are good, but not always fruitful. I do approach local bookstores and offer a no-risk plan to engage them for possible book signings. Speaking of which, I do buy spots at book events to attract old and new readers.
  • Why did you choose this route? You’re one-on-one with the reader. Engagement in a face-to-face meeting sears your image to your books that way.
  • What are your views on social media for marketing? I’m in Twitter and Facebook, although I have a personal FB account that is not writing related, and a separate FB account just for my professional writing.
  • Which social network worked best for you? I’ve found Twitter to be the best at luring in readers and writing professionals (I have well over 2,100 followers). Facebook is no slouch, though.
  • Did you make any marketing mistakes or is there anything you would avoid in future? Investing money and time with agencies that didn’t necessarily pan out.
  • Would you or do you use a PR agency? Right now I want to focus on a obtaining a literary agent for my next work, preferably someone with some street cred behind him/her and from a reputable agency.
  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? Stay away from places that “guarantee” a lot of followers and potential readers. If it’s too good to be true, it is. Also, steer clear of vanity presses.
  • What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book? I’ll admit not enough. I’m too busy trying to work on the next project. I pledge to do better with the right publisher/agency.
  • What do you do to get book reviews? I’ve offered free books with the proviso that the readers do write something, especially on my Amazon author page. It’s an honor system, but the true readers will respond.
  • What advice would you give to aspiring writers? Hone your craft, join professional writing organizations, subscribe to publications like Writer’s Digest, and attend writers conferences and conventions and share thoughts on what works and what doesn’t.
  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Go to my website, https://www.molloyauthor.com. Also go to my Amazon author page and professional Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/molloyauthor.

Thank you for taking the time to talk with us about your craft. Watch this space for more interviews and articles in support of indie authors.

Wanda DeHaven Pyle

Leave a Reply

